It’s Overwhelming 

Writing

It’s overwhelming

How a piece of your skin

Can set mine on fire

Molten gold

Into ashes 

Or stone cold

Like the arctic 

Just by the sheer force 

Of your emotion 

It overwhelming 

How I can feel your concern 

Radiating off of your skin 

I’m waves of heat

And sprinkles of tingles 

When you touch 

The back of my neck 

It’s overwhelming 

When you touch my pinky 

But I can feel your affection

As if you’ve ravaged my entire body 

Enveloping it

In the safe haven 

That is your love 

It’s overwhelming 

How I feel a current pass through 

The entirety of my being 

By the touch of your head

On my shoulder 

With a smile on your face 

But tears flooding your soul

It’s overwhelming 

These emotions that are not mine

That I cannot fathom 

But can somehow feel

Through the slightest touch 

The softest lean

And a whisper of a hug

It’s overwhelming 

Wondering why it is that I feel

What I have not created 

But still touches me

In every way 

Through the people that surround me

Through them

Through you

It’s overwhelming 

Thinking that I might have the ability 

To discern what my loved ones feel

By touching their forehead

Feeling the thunder that resides within them

Even when they smile 

Laugh 

And frolic away 

To the naked eye 

Of those who cannot 

It’s overwhelming 

This 

Whatever this is

Whatever I am trying to figure out

Why I can feel this much 

So much 

Of which isn’t mine 

By just a feather of a touch

From those 

That are my world 

That define my very existence 

That mend my very soul

It’s overwhelming 

It’s you

It’s me

It’s the universe 

That flows through us

When you hold my hand 

And we mix

In the most scary 

Beautiful way

It’s overwhelming 

It’s overwhelming 

It’s overwhelming 

Leave a Reply

